SUNDAY 7 February 2021 3PM

Pelléas et Mélisande Suite, Op. 80

Clarinet Concerto

Karelia Suite, Op. 11

Symphony No 7 in C major, Op. 105

Katherine Lacy: Clarinet
Roderick Dunk: Conductor

Clarinet soloist Katherine Lacy played the Malcolm Arnold Clarinet Concerto with us in our March 2019 concert and we welcome her back to play the concerto by American composer Aaron Copland. Like the Arnold concerto Copland’s Clarinet Concerto was written for jazz clarinettist Benny Goodman and, not surprisingly, it incorporates many jazz elements.

Our concert starts with a suite of the restrained and elegant incidental music Gabriel Fauré wrote for Maeterlinck’s play Pelléas et Mélisande. From the suite, the Sicilienne, featuring flute and harp, is particularly well known. We end with two works by Jean Sibelius. His Karelia suite is perhaps his most popular piece and the nationalistic feelings it aroused caused a sensation at the first performance in Finland.

The Seventh Symphony, Sibelius’s last, is a very different work. Cast in just one movement it breaks new ground in symphonic construction and represents the culmination of his achievement as one of the most original symphonists.

Katherine Lacy

Katherine Lacy was appointed principal clarinettist with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in November 2014, following a short period with the BBC Symphony Orchestra and eight years with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra.

As a busy professional, Katherine has enjoyed working as a guest with other orchestras, on E flat clarinet, basset horn and bass clarinet, and has recently performed with orchestras including the LSO and London Sinfonietta.

In the past few years she has also played guest principal clarinet with the Northern Sinfonia, BBC Symphony Orchestra, London Chamber Orchestra, CBSO and the Ulster Orchestra.