Sunday 6 November 2022 3pm

VAUGHAN WILLIAMS Serenade to Music (Orchestral Version)


COATES The Three Elizabeths Suite

VAUGHAN WILLIAMS Symphony No. 5 in D major

George Vass – Conductor

Our November programme sees guest conductor George Vass presenting a lively and entertaining programme which acknowledges two key events. The 150th anniversary of British composer Ralph Vaughan Williams is marked by the performance of two of his well-known works, Symphony No. 5 and Serenade to Music (Orchestral version). In addition, the vibrant Three Elizabeths Suite by Eric Coates celebrates our late Queen’s Platinum Jubilee year.

Long recognised as a great champion of contemporary music, George also conducts the orchestral premier of the short tone poem Yuki-Onna by local composer Philip Le Bas. Yuki-Onna (Snow Woman) is a traditional ghost story widely known in Japan, and Philip’s tone poem for orchestra developed from a cross-cultural project to create a melodrama for piano solo and spoken voice, which was performed in Northern Japan in 2019.